What I learned from Washing Feet

I just had three tween girls over at my house for a sleepover. As part of the sleepover, I gave them an unprofessional pedicure. I washed and scrubbed their feet with an exfoliating scrub, and then painted their toenails. One of the girls was hesitant once I said “feet”. She was embarrassed about her feet. I was quick to reassure her their was nothing to be embarrassed about after finding out why she was embarrassed.

I wondered if I should have insisted that we do our feet, because maybe it was insensitive to gloss over her embarrassment. But at the same time, I wanted her to know there was nothing to be embarrassed about. Each of us has physical characteristics that make us less than perfect, but none of them take away from our beauty as a creation of God.

I contemplated on the whole feet washing incident and compared it with how Christ washed the feet of the disciples. I realized that in some ways, Jesus showed just how much He is willing to see the good, the bad and the ugly in our lives by washing His disciples’ feet. After all, I think it is pretty normal for feet to be dirty, especially back in Jesus’ day. Those feet would have been outright disgusting. But Jesus dealt with the physical disgusting and He will deal with the spiritually disgusting.

Psalm 62:8 “Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.” I remember discovering that verse as a teenage girl. I remember being so excited about this particular verse because it meant that God wanted to hear me. Not only did God want to hear me, but He also wanted to hear everything in my heart. What a beautiful concept. Many embarrassing and even sinful things exist in the heart of a teenage girl, yet God wanted me to pour out my heart to Him.

God wants all of us so that He can have His will and His way in our lives.

Leave a Reply

