My New Year’s Resolutions

This year, my resolutions are more involved than they have been in the last few years. First of all, I think that this is fine for me because I am not working outside of the home anymore. Hence, I do have more time that is free for me to use. Yes, I am a mom and that does take up a lot of my time, however, I can learn to manage my time much better in order to accomplish my goals.

So, in the process of making this years New Year’s Resolutions, I decided to travel through time in my mind. I thought about December 31, 2012 and I wondered what I would want to be looking back on.

I want to have read the whole Bible through, in a year.  I have read the whole Bible, but never in a year and I definitely want to make it this year. I found a plan for “Shirkers and Slackers” that seems like it will work well for me and my husband!

I realized when I look back on 2012, I really want to be able to say that I invested in my health by eating more whole foods, more vegetables and more fruits. I have a guideline I came up with that will help me to increase my daily intake of fruits and vegetables. I want to exercise consistently. One of the ways I would like to do this is simply sit ups and push ups about every other day or at least three times a week. Quantitatively, I would like to be able to do 50 sits ups and 30 push ups. Now, I will put a qualifier in here. I personally expect to be expecting at the end of 2012. I would be extremely surprised if I was not. So, with that in mind, if I am expecting, I will not be doing sit ups and push ups necessarily. However, I still would like to be in good physical shape.

I want to be able to speak Spanish. I want to achieve at least an intermediate level of Spanish this year.

I want to have read at least twenty books. This is less than two books a month, so it should be completely doable.

I want to have written. I quit blogging back in 2011 and while I definitely needed a break and that blog was definitely over, I really found that I missed writing. Realizing just how much I missed blogging and writing prompted me to begin this blog. My goal is to write and post at least three times a week.

Another thing that I really wanted to focus on this year is relationships with people. I have never put much emphasis on friendships with other girls/women and I think that it is definitely time for me to do that. I want to have three friends at the end of next year that I did not have this year. I want at least two “mom” friends that have kids themselves, preferably close to Ayealyn’s age. I also want a friend who is at least ten years older than me.

Also, at the end of 2012 I also want to be at least as much in love with Luke as I was at the end of 2011. This is a resolution that I think will probably be somewhat easy to keep, but I know that it is the little things that will throw me off on this one. One of the ways that I will protect and nurture our relationship is to write Luke 12 love letters this year. I enjoy the love letters because the ones we have from the past are a record of our love in the midst of either good or bad circumstances.

Like I mentioned in my post about how I make New Year’s Resolutions, I will be making monthly goals and evaluating the month before it begins. I plan on choosing what to read based on my circumstances somewhat. Although, I definitely want to get into the subjects of apologetics and prayer. Other topics I wish to cover are practical ones such as housekeeping, parenting and early childhood development. I will be trying to at least list my reading list and report on any ideas I find to be particularly interesting.

Leave a Reply

