Why I make New Year’s Resolutions

I know I am a little late posting in regards to New Year’s Resolutions, but I have an excuse! My husband and I are buying a house. We have been in this process for months, and no, that is not normal from what we are told. Anyways, for the last week and a half, we have been in limbo finding out whether or not we were going to get the house. So my New Year’s Resolution making and finalizing was put off until now. However, thankfully, we are getting the house! So we are praising the Lord for that huge blessing.

According to Wikipedia, New Year’s Resolutions date back to ancient times and some of the origins actually came from traditions related to pagan gods. However, Christianity also seems to have a history of resolutions. Personally, I enjoy the “new” start and beginning. It gives me a chance to put the old behind me and start something new, like the “put off” and “put on” in Colossians 3.

I always make New Years Resolutions! I enjoy the idea of starting over and trying again. And yes, I always try again. People joke that their New Year’s Resolutions is not to make any resolutions! Generally, I have to disagree with that point of view. I mean, why not try again? Tenacity, persistence and determination all come from trying again and again and again. When you cannot go on anymore, but yet you still do, you develop perseverance. Those are all character qualities that I want in my life. So, every year, I exercise the “muscle” inside of me that gets up and tries again.

Other people seem to almost look down on those of us who make New Year’s Resolutions because they, in their words, “don’t wait for a special day in order to make resolutions!” But, for me, making resolutions on a fixed day of the year, specifically the beginning of the year, helps me to evaluate what is going on in my life. How did I do last year? What areas of my life need improving? I can look back on and evaluate a specific time period and act on my findings.

So, in the coming days, I will post how I make my resolutions and then I will also post most of my resolutions for this year!

Leave a Reply

